- Topaz Camp
- When Words Weren't Enough
- Museum Project
- Digital Archive
The Topaz Museum has amassed an impressive number of artifacts that were made at the camp, including 95 pieces of art painted at the Topaz Art School, furniture also made at camp, jewelry, and other personal belongings.
A restored recreation hall gives visitors the authentic experience of what it was like to live in Topaz. The shoddy materials used to make the barracks creates tangible evidence of what it was like to live in Topaz, how people were subject to the weather and the incessant dust and dirt that pervaded the living quarters. Mattresses stamped “WRA” show the exact type of bedding and cots issued to each internee.
Most of the artifacts are in storage until the Topaz Museum is open. The restored recreation hall can be seen by appointment.
The Topaz Museum Board is dedicated to preserving the history of Topaz. The Foundation owns 634 acres of the Topaz site, which has mostly remained undisturbed since the camp was dismantled after it closed in 1945. Visitors to the site can still see the roads, outlines of barracks and even an occasional garden which internees created to brighten their bleak surroundings. Concrete foundations of mess halls and latrines remain and one can find various artifacts of daily internment life buried in the dusty desert. If you visit, please do not collect artifacts. Camp site photos.
The Topaz Museum Board has recently finished construction of the Topaz Museum on 55 West Main in Delta. When the exhibits are installed the museum will serve as an archive, and will provide a permanent repository of the historic items associated with Topaz.